Terry Lundgren needs to improve Macy's

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Macy’s: Sub-par Shopping Experience March 10, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — ericwillcockson @ 11:06 am

I consider myself a frequent shopper.  In addition to school and playing football, I’d say that I spend a good amount of time at clothing stores, at malls and other places looking around and buying either clothes or shoes.

I’ve been going to Macy’s ever since I was young, even back when there was Bullock’s department stores.  My point is, I’ve seen how Macy’s has turned from a fairly nice department store into something I’m not very excited to visit.

Recently, I’ve had a couple of experiences at some Macy’s in the Los Angeles and Orange County areas that have made me question whether I want to even step foot into a Macy’s ever again to shop.  Thus the decision to blog on this topic.  Terry Lundgren, is this how you want potential Macy’s customers to feel?

 

6 Responses to “Macy’s: Sub-par Shopping Experience”

  1. evangelinelyu Says:

    I’ve heard your story that inspired you to write this blog in class, but maybe it would help to include it in your first post? I think it would help people who are reading it and not in our class really understand why you decided to write this blog.

  2. britt593 Says:

    Already I see where this is going, and I’m liking it. I like it because I feel like there is a sort of apathy among many employees at department stores, such as Macy’s and people who shop there and are high up in management at these places need to know how their employees are treating customers. I can see a reference to Pretty Woman coming up in one of your posts, although you are a guy, it is a universal happening that employees don’t view the customer as always being right, even though that is the cardinal rule in any retail or food store. I look forward to reading about your experiences in Macy’s and although I shop at Macy’s occasionally, I am interested to see how I will feel about the store after I read your next posts.

  3. freebeatscs Says:

    I can relate to this completely. I have also shopped at Bullock’s and Macy’s since day 1 of my fashion sense. Gotta give it you, Macy’s has gone down hill and needs to step up and realize that the future business model is all about customer relationships and creating a comfortable shopping environment.

  4. I feel the same way about Macy’s! I used to love shopping there and I have definitely seen a decline in the stores over the years. I think that it would be great if you went into more detail of the specific bad customer service experiences you have had. Using pictures to illustrate the stores decline would be beneficial as well!

  5. luckeeduck87 Says:

    This is a rather short post and I wish you would have elaborated more about exactly what happened during these shopping experiences. Also, I understand that Terry Lundgren is your change agent, but how exactly is he connected to Macy’s? It’s a good start and definitely an interesting topic, but I would just say for future posts, you should go into a bit more detail so the readers can get a fuller experience and information on this topic.

  6. I feel like the majority of consumer complaints regarding the fashion industry come from women. I’m looking forward to hearing more about your take on Macy’s, what they are doing wrong and what they can improve.

    You shared your story about what specifically made you question whether you ever want to set foot into a Macy’s again in class, it was an interesting story and could be cool to include in this post. I think alot of people would be able to relate with your experience and it could be a good lead-in.

    Can’t wait to read more!


Leave a Reply

